Remember me
Lost Password Register

wetsuit or drysuit?
04-27-2006, 02:29 PM,
wetsuit or drysuit?
Hi everyone...i'm just getting into scuba and am researching some gear to buy when the time comes and was wondering if most of you who dive around here use a thick wetsuit or a drysuit? And what are a couple of better brands to start looking at? Any help would be appreciated.
~Ryan
04-27-2006, 03:22 PM,
Re: wetsuit or drysuit?
In my opinion if you plan to dive fairly frequently then don't waste your money on a wetsuit, get a drysuit.  The waters are always cold at depth in our region and diving dry is the way to go.  If you do not plan to dive enough to justify the expense of a drysuit then a good 7mm wetsuit will be ok.  I dove a 7mm farmer john wetsuit my first year of diving.  Once I dove Lake Superior for the first time I new the wetsuit had to go and have dove dry ever since. 
04-27-2006, 05:20 PM,
I started out dry.  It was the first purchase my instructor recommended.  Looking back, it was the wrong thing due to my age and that I was still growing.  It became an expensive pair of waders in 5 years.  So if you are younger than 25, I'd hold off and stay wet until then.

I prefer the neoprene drysuits, as they are more streamlined in the water more like a wetsuit, and contain their own insulation.  Most of the time with mine I'll wear running tights and a t-shirt under mine, and come up steaming.  For ice diving, I'll add long underwear.  One thing to remember, is that the neoprene will get thinner the deeper you go.  Most of the neoprene drysuits have the zipper across the sholders, making them almost impossible to self don.