Remember me
Lost Password Register

Here's an easy one (I think)
04-04-2006, 02:33 PM,
Here's an easy one (I think)
I've been lurking for a while...I just had a question about wet suits.

I am looking at getting a custom 7mm suit made and one of the options I am thinking about is ankle/wrist zippers.  Are these worth it?  Anyone have them or have any opinions on them?

Another question I had is my gloves have cuffs with 2 layers, one that goes under the suit sleeve and one that goes over it...will wrist zips have any effect on that at all?

Yup, total newbie here.  I would say I am a new cert except I have not finished my checkout dives yet (waiting for the water to get a *little* warmer).  Any advice will be helpful.

Sara
Green Bay
04-04-2006, 02:48 PM,
Re: Here's an easy one (I think)
I personally would stay away from zips on the wrists and ankles if you don't NEED them. Besides the probable extra cost, it's another thing (or 4 things) to break. Good luck with the new suit. Wink
04-04-2006, 04:05 PM,
My wet suit has ankle zips with a velcro flap that keeps it closed.  I would recommend them.  My first suit many, many moons ago did not have this and it was a PITA to don them.  On the other hand, even though I have rather large hands I've never had any trouble getting through a wet suit sleeve.  A wrist zipper may be more trouble then its worth.

jim
04-04-2006, 04:29 PM,
Just passing through and thought I would throw my .02 into the mix  Wink

I deal with this question often with my students and I have a certain philosophy...there is a time and a place for wetsuits;  it is called the Caribbean  ;D  All the local diving (MN and WI) I do is in a drysuit.