Remember me
Lost Password Register

Carry underwater cameras
06-27-2004, 08:45 AM,
Carry underwater cameras
Hi everyone,

I have just acquired a housing for my camera. I'm a newbie in this UW photography stuff and there's one aspect that has been troubling me.

How should one carry the camera underwater?

In the few dives I have made I've carried it in my wrist. But, what if something happens and I need to use both hands? In this case the camera may became a problem. I'm thinking somehow locking it to my BCD, in such a way that I can always let it go, and get it back when necessary, maybe a retractor.

Any thoughts?

ps. first set of pictures has been aweeeeeeeeful this takes alot more practice then I thought.
06-27-2004, 02:05 PM,
Re:Carry underwater cameras
I always just tied a brass snap bolt onto my camera system. I would clip itoff to one of my shoulder D-rings if not in use. For wreck/tech diving I always held it in my hands and had my HID light head mounted to the strobe. That way my dive light always shone on what I wanted to shoot. This works out really well when swimming through a wreck.

For freediving I just carry the camera, but have a wrist lanyard and a hand strap so I don't loose it and can maunvere it around with ease. I also have a mount on my speargun so I can carry it along with me on all my dives.

I always like to avoid retractors as they are more gimmick than anything. A good bolt-snap and a wrist lanyard always did the trick for any kind of diving that I have ever done. I actually have been able to clip off extra cameras just like stage bottles while on trips- one set up for macro with dual strobes while the other camera had a wide angle lens and no strobes. It allows you to be ready for anything.

Jon

06-27-2004, 07:31 PM,
I have been using a "telephone cord" retractor that can be clipped short. I added a carabiner for clipping it to may BCD. See picture.