Remember me
Lost Password Register

weights
05-10-2004, 05:37 PM, (This post was last modified: 05-15-2004, 05:46 AM by land shark.)
weights
hi all! im new to the forum.

I've been reading this forum for some time now, I really enjoy it.
I'm new to scuba diving but have done some snorkeling in the past.
Soon i hope to have my c card Smile
I've been reading a lot about the dir stuff it makes a lot of sense
IMHO.
It seems to me that trim is everything somthing I hope to improve on.
A new term has entered my education "ditchable weight"

I own a two piece 7 mm wet suit. its quite warm i like it.
but i have to wear 35 pounds to get bouyancy. not a prob, but all on my hips is a big pain. ;D

So as i plan my new Dir rig Big Grin, and my diving future "how are u guys
distributing ur weight." I would be curious to know ?

p.s. btw Dairyland Jon, i enjoy ur pics. its nice to see some of the old dive sites again.
05-10-2004, 08:20 PM, (This post was last modified: 05-10-2004, 08:20 PM by LKunze.)
Re:weights
Get a heavy stainless steel backplate. I use a 6 lb. plate but I think you can get a 9 lb. plate as well. Also a single tank adaptor (STA) will give you a couple more lbs. of weight as well. A steel tank helps too. I know some say not to use steel tanks with wetsuits but I don't think it's really an issue if the majority of your weight is on a belt that's ditchable. I've always used steel tanks even when I used to dive wet.
05-10-2004, 09:34 PM,
land shark,

Welcome to the board.

I dive using a drysuit, a SS backplate, a single tank adapter and high pressure steel tanks. I need about 4lbs on my weight belt when diving cold water and full insulation, and 0lbs when diving warm water with just my long underwear on underneath.

When you just start diving, you need a lot of weight. You will find that the more you dive, the more weight you will lose.