Remember me
Lost Password Register

My Rebreather Experience!
11-20-2007, 11:43 AM,
My Rebreather Experience!
Hi everyone- I'm new to Wiscuba but I thought I would start out by posting about my first rebreather experience for anyone looking to get one or who wants to try something new.

I recently returned from a dive trip to Florida, where I met with Gregg Stanton and Joerg Hess at Wakulla Diving Center in Crawfordville, Florida ().  They took me through a Discover Rebreather course in which I was able to compare 7 rebreathers side by side! Gregg's 25 years teaching experience as a college professor at Florida State University showed- he was VERY patient and throughly explained all of the features of each of the units!  These included Inspiration, Evolution, Kiss Sport, Kiss Classic, Ouroboros, Megalodon and Optima. 

For a real green rebreather diver, it was really impressive to look at these all side by side.  I selected to try out the Kiss Sport.  This one was smaller and had features that seemed simple for a beginner. It allowed manual O2 and diluent adjustments and gave me a clear sense of how the more computerized rebreathers must work. 

I had some difficulty transitioning from open circuit to CCR- they told it was normal to go through a complete change in mind set.  Most difficult for me was buoyancy- here I am an experienced dive instructor and I felt like the most beginner of my open water students.  I was terrible and either crashed into the bottom or floated up to the surface, but slowly I picked up the tricks.  Joerg was right there in the pool with me for support - what comfort, he wrote the IANTD CCR Manual!

I demo-ed the rebreather in Wakulla's on-site pool for a little over an hour, and when I tried to get out (because I was a bit chilled) Gregg asked which rebreather I was going to try next!  I chose the hot tub instead. ;D