wiscuba.com

Full Version: Photo Newbie needs some help
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
???

I I am a photo newbie in every sense of the word and I need some serious help! I have a list of questions for those of you with more U/W photo experience than me, a.k.a. everybody. ;D

1. When returning from Belize last year I noticed that once I developed the film we brought back w/us all the pics were very grainy. I asked the customs agent not to put it through the X-ray scanner and they sent it through another machine.
What the heck is that machine and is it the cause of my grainy pics?

Also is it better to develop them before coming home?

Do they x-ray that stuff if I mail the film home for development?

2. I just “upgraded” form the disposable cameras ( told you I’m a newbie) to a Sea-Life Sport Diver camera. Any suggestions for good pics with this camera?

3. Is it worth my while to buy a macro lens right away? I’m guessing that I’d start with a 3x.

4. Is there a good book out there for a photo virgin like me?

Thanks
I too have had film go through machines in Belize to come back very grainey and dark. I now have lead bags for all my film. When they go through the xray, the agent will usually do a hand check. I haven't had any problems since using the bags.
Here is the official word from Kodak on x-Ray machines: